Beach Beauty Essentials by Joanie Benoit – Designer Beachwear

BEACH BEAUTY ESSENTIALS

Beach Beauty Essentials - BBE Logo

Joanie Benoit - Founder & CEO of Beach Beauty Essentials
Joanie Benoit – Founder & CEO of Beach Beauty Essentials

Founder of the brand “Beach Beauty Essentials”, Joanie Benoit, 20 years old,  is a young self-starter entrepreneur who grew up in Tracadie-Sheila, a small town in New Brunswick, Canada.  In 2012,  Joanie decided to move in the big city of Ottawa to pursue her studies of Marketing at the University of Ottawa in marketing  as that city provides more opportunities . Effectively, a lot of opportunities came up to her.

In the first couple of months, Joanie obtained a position as Designer Coordinator at Ottawa Fashion Week. Since that, she has been collaborating with them combining it with a job position as sales associate within the company Guess by Marciano, her studies and managing her own company.

 Discover a bit more about that emergent Canadian fashion brand “Beach Beauty Essentials” …

Joanie what is “Beach Beauty Essentials” (BBE) as a brand? 

Beach Beauty Essentials is about understated confidence and individuality. Our women designer beachwear and ressortwear is meticulously designed and handcrafted in Canada. Our Bohemian couture has a flair of subtle chic and distinctive lightness, inspired by the wind and the sea.

Joanie Benoit - Founder & CEO of Beach Beauty Essentials

Why did you get into the fashion industry?

Fashion has always been a part of me since I was young. I enjoyed doing beauty pageants and also organizing them. I’ve always had good taste in regards to my clothing choices and I liked advising others. It was only after completing my first sewing class in high school, and at the suggestion of a teacher, that I turned to creating stylish apparel for myself and other trendsetting classmates and friends. Soon after, I became determined to turning my passion into my lifework.

Joanie Benoit - Founder & CEO of Beach Beauty EssentialsWhat inspired you?

To create my design, I really get inspired by looking into magazines and making a big “collage” of all the colours, texture and pattern that I love and then I start drawing.Joanie Benoit - Founder & CEO of Beach Beauty Essentials collage fuchsia halter dress

How did you start your business?

The summer after high school graduation, instead of seeking employment at the local mall like my girlfriends, I started my first company, Mod’Elle, with a loan from the SEED entrepreneurship program in New Brunswick.

My fresh designs and quality hand-sewn items were immediately met with high demand. This tremendous success set a clear path for my future in the fashion industry.

Today, I continue to dedicate myself to providing quality and fashionable women inspired apparel for the pool, beach and resort. Each item is handcrafted in Canada under the BBE banner, short for Beach Beauty Essentials.

Joanie Benoit - Founder & CEO of Beach Beauty Essentials collage black and white cover  upIs this your first business? Do you have any other brand? 

I started my first company 2 years ago, Mod’Elle, with a loan from the SEED entrepreneurship program in New Brunswick. (It was the same business idea, but I just changed the name of the brand for Beach Beauty Essentials).

With a lot of beachwear brand within the market, what makes your brand/products/services stand out from the rest?

My products are unique because of their designs and fluidity. Easy to wear, women can not only wear them to the beach, but they can also turn them into a day outfit so they are very versatile. My designs are also unique because they are designed and hand made, here in Canada.

Joanie Benoit - Founder & CEO of Beach Beauty EssentialsWho are your customers?

My target market is woman aged between 20 and 45. Women who have style, women who travel, women in the middle class.

What was the most difficult part of starting this type of business?

For me, I think the most difficult part of starting a business is to make the right contacts to make your business grow to another level. You really need to have a good team to work with and this requires times, networking and a lot of hours of hard work. Once you have the financial needs covered, a great product, the resources and the contacts you need, things get easier and you can start building around them.

What are your expectations for the future? 

For the future, I would like to see my business grow bigger and bigger to expand in other countries. I would like to have my brand in many stores and eventually add more products to the line.

BEACH BEAUTY ESSENTIALS

Beach Beauty Essentials - BBE Logo

W: http://www.beachbeautyessentials.com

One thought on “Beach Beauty Essentials by Joanie Benoit – Designer Beachwear

Leave a Reply

